NEIGHBORHOOD WATCH: Neighbors looking after neighbors

Mission Statement

To prevent and reduce crime in our neighborhoods through active participation from our citizens, community partners, police departments and sheriff’s department to enhance greater public safety in our communities.


Neighborhood Watch is a tool to bring neighbors into the work of improving the quality of life and crime issues in a given neighborhood. Neighborhood Watch creates opportunities for concerned citizens to partner with law enforcement officers in identifying neighborhood issues while implementing ways of improving them.

The Hampden County Sheriff’s Department coordinators work in the nine sectors of Springfield with a focus on getting more community residents involved in attending the B-Management and C3 Policing meetings. The focus of both meetings is to share information while working to improve the quality of life and crime issues in each sector and neighborhood.

Working together, neighbors learn how to protect property, increase personal safety and reduce the risk of crime. Neighbors become more alert to unusual or suspicious circumstances, individuals, or vehicles. They call the police to report unusual activities, even if their suspicion proves unfounded. This proactive approach can reduce the risk of neighbors becoming victims of crime.

When alert citizens keep the police informed, the police are far more effective against crime – and citizens have better protection and safer neighborhoods.

Hampden County Sheriff’s Department Neighborhood Watch Coordinators


Springfield

Sector A – Memorial Square (Tomasa Picot) 858-0634 Email: tomasa.picot@sdh.state.ma.us

SECTOR A BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

Second Thursday of the month from 6pm to 7pm – Brightwood Library, 359 Plainfield St., Springfield

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer Luz Martin  266-0003   gmade@springfieldpolice.net      

******************************************************************************************

Sector B – Liberty Heights NW (Cortez DeBoise) 858-0005 Email: cortez.deboise@sdh.state.ma.us

SECTOR B BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

Third Thursday of the month, 6:00pm to 7:00pm – Hungry Hill Senior Center, 773 Liberty St.

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer Daniel Murdock 636-4277 dmurdock@springfieldpolice.net     

******************************************************************************************

Sector C – East Springfield (Dan Moran) 781-2050 ext. 8346 Email: dan.moran@sdh.state.ma.us

SECTOR C BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

Third Tuesday of the month, 6:30pm to 7:30pm – East Springfield Neighborhood Council Office, 1437 Carew St. Behind Pottenger School.

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer Julio Vazquez 426-6602 Vazquez@springfieldpolice.net

******************************************************************************************

Sector D – Indian Orchard (Damian Cherry) Email: damian.cherry@SDH.state.ma.us

SECTOR D BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

Third Wednesday of the month, 6:00pm to 7:00pm – Indian Orchard Citizen’s Council Community Room, 117 Main St., Indian Orchard

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer James Collins 313-3877  jcollins@springfieldpolice.net            

******************************************************************************************

Sector E – South End / Metro (Chris Moya) 858-0004 Email: chris.moya@sdh.state.ma.us

SECTOR E BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

First Thursday of the month, 6:00pm –Mason Square Senior Center, Emerson Hall, 439 Union Street.  Enter from Walnut Street.

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer Steve Tyburski 633-4073 styburski@springfieldpolice.net        

********************************************************************************************

Sector F1 – McKnight/Bay (Kernardo Douglas) 858-0957 Email: kernardo.douglas@sdh.state.ma.us

Sector F2 – Old Hill/Upper Hill (Kaitlyn Delaney) Email: kaitlyn.delaney@sdh.state.ma.us   

SECTOR F BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

Third Thursday of the month, 5:30pm to 6:30pm – Mason Square Library

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Joel Rosemond 351-6468 jrosemond@springfieldpolice.net       

******************************************************************************************

Sector G – Pine Point (La’Neil Brown) 306-8216 Email: la’neil.brown@SDH.state.ma.us

SECTOR G BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

Fourth Tuesday of the month, 7:00pm to 8:00pm – Independence House, 1475 Roosevelt Ave.

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer Keith Fleming 351-6085 kfleming@springfieldpolice.net          

********************************************************************************************

 Sector H – South Forest Park (Dan Miller) 858-0007 Email: dan.miller@sdh.state.ma.us

SECTOR H BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

First Wednesday of the month, 6pm to 7pm – Sinai Temple, 1100 Dickinson St. Sometimes at JCC

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer Michael Dyer 333-8992 mdyer@springfieldpolice.net              

******************************************************************************************

Sector I – Sixteen Acres (Michael Harrigan) michael.harrigan@SDH.state.ma.us

 SECTOR I BEAT MANAGEMENT MEETING

Feb, April, June August, October, December: first Tuesday of the month, 6:15pm – Christian Life Center, 1590 Sumner Ave. Springfield

Jan, March, May, July, September: third Tuesday of the month, 6:00pm – Clodo Conception Community Center (old Greenleaf), 1188 Parker Street.  Behind the Library

Springfield Police Ordinance Officer: Officer Jason Laviolette jlaviolette@springfieldpolice.net                

******************************************************************************************

C3 POLICE SUPERVISORS & MEETINGS

NORTH END            Lt. Julio Toledo         Ph: 426-3095   Email: JToledo@Springfieldpolice.net

Meetings: Weekly each Thursday at 11:00 am, alternating between community room at Sacred Heart Church, 395 Chestnut St; and community room, 101 Lowell St.

SOUTH END                        Lt. Brian Beliveau     Ph: 478-6927   Email: BBeliveau@Springfieldpolice.net

Meetings: Weekly each Wednesday at 11:00am. Also meets on third Wednesday each month at 5:30pm. All meetings are held at 806 Main St.

FOREST PARK       Sgt. John Wadlegger  Ph: 883-2241 Email: jwadlegger@springfieldpolice.net

Meetings: Weekly each Thursday at 10:00am, Holy Name School, 37 Alderman St, AND at 6:00pm at Holyoke Name Social Center, 57 Alderman St.. Meetings are held weekly at both locations.

MASON SQUARE   Sgt. Devon Williams  Ph: 654-7288   Email: DWilliams@Springfieldpolice.net

Meetings: Weekly each Tuesday at 11:00am, Mason Square Branch Library, 765 State St.

Holyoke Coordinators

Holyoke Ward 1 Vacant

Holyoke Ward 2 (Alejandra Torres-Ortiz) 858-0963 Email: alejandra.torres-ortiz@SDH.state.ma.us

Meeting dates vary

Morgan Parent Engagement Coordinator: Nakita Perez 534-2083  niperez@hps.holyoke.ma.us

Holyoke Ward 4 (Rafael Santos) 858-0959 Email: rafael.santos@sdh.state.ma.us

Second Tuesday of the month 6pm to 7pm – Holyoke Public Library, Chestnut St.

Lawrence Parent Engagement Coordinator: Yamaris Rivera 534-2075 yamrivera@hps.holyoke.ma.us

Holyoke Ward 3  (Glen Sexton) 858-0960 Email: glen.sexton.sdh.state.ma.us

First Monday of the month 4pm to 5:45pm – Metcalf School, Northampton St.

Peck Parent Engagement Coordinator: Dean Santiago 534-2040 dsantiago@hps.holyoke.ma.us

Holyoke Ward 5 (Madeline Fernandez 364-2600 madeline.fernandez@sdh.state.ma.us

Donahue Parent Engagement Coordinator: Stephanie Garcia 534-2069 segarcia@hps.holyoke.ma.us

Holyoke Ward 6 (Gregory Ramos) 210-8847 Email: 003740@SDH.state.ma.us

Sullivan Parent Engagement Coordinator: Jazmine Acevedo 534-2060 jacevedo@hps.holyoke.ma.us